Misfiring Safee insists interest in him is still high

Malaysia international Safee Sali claims there are a number of clubs keen on securing his services even though he admits 2013 has not been the best year in his career.

Despite creating plenty of buzz at the start of the year when he signed for ambitious Malaysia Super League outfit Darul Takzim, on loan from Indonesian side Arema Cronous, the 29-year-old struggled to live up to expectations.

He netted just twice in the league as Harimau Selatan finished a disappointing third, and only managed three goals in his side’s Malaysia Cup campaign, which ended in an 8-5 aggregate defeat to Kelantan at the quarter-final stage.

His place in the Harimau Malaya side has also come under question due to his unimpressive displays at club level, but Safee revealed there are still plenty of clubs looking to sign him for 2014.

“I have received many offers,” he said, according to The Star.

“[Clubs in] Thailand and Indonesia want me to join them. Many local teams have also approached me.”

According to the report, Arema are keen retaining his services although his current deal with them expires next February, while Thai Premier League outfit Suphanburi were also named as prospective suitors.

The Malaysian sides said to be interested in him are Kelantan and Selangor, his hometown side where he made a name for himself from 2006 to 2011.

However, the powerfully-built striker insists he has not made up his mind over his future yet, although the prospect of playing continental football would be a factor.

“I have not made any decision yet,” Safee added.

“I have a contract with JDT [Darul Takzim] until November and with my club in Indonesia until February. And I hope to honour these contracts first.

“I will decide after that. For now, I am discussing and looking into all possibilities.

“Of course, I want to play in the first XI. And it is important for my future team to be able to play in the AFC competitions.

“It must be in a regional league of high calibre. I want it to be a huge challenge for me.”

And although he was confident about his future prospects, Safee did admit he was not at his best in the past season.

Still, he is determined to end the year on a high by helping Malaysia get their 2015 AFC Asian Cup qualification campaign back on track in their Group D games against Kuwait and Bahrain this month.

“It has not been a good year for me,” he conceded. “Neither in the national team or at club level.

“I have not given up hope and I’m still trying my best to support the team. I think we still have a chance in the Asian Cup qualifiers.

“We took one point here [in the 1-1 draw against Bahrain] and there is a lot of confidence ahead of the second leg against Bahrain. Then, there is the match against Qatar.

“I believe we have a good team to challenge our rivals.”

The draw against Bahrain at the Shah Alam Stadium on October 15, which came after Norsharul Idlan Talaha struck in the 71st minute to cancel out Abdulla Saleh’s opener before the break, meant Harimau Malaya have claimed four points from their opening three qualifiers and are currently third in the group.

Leave a Reply

