Kelantan, Selangor face V-League opposition; Home, Persipura to lock horns

Malaysia Super League giants Kelantan and Selangor will both face off with Vietnamese opposition in the 2014 AFC Cup after the draw was made on Tuesday afternoon.

Kelantan, who qualified after winning this year’s Malaysia FA Cup, were put in Group G and will face Vietnamese Cup champions Vissai Ninh Binh, as well as Hong Kong’s South China and Myanmar National League champions Yangon United.

However, South China are currently in the qualifying playoffs of the AFC Champions League and will be replaced in the AFC Cup by SHB Da Nang should they progress to the group stage.

Meanwhile, Malaysia Super League runners-up Selangor, who qualified as champions LIONSXII are ineligible to represent Malaysia, were drawn in Group F and will face Indonesia’s Arema Cronous, V.League 1 champions Hanoi T&T and Maldivian outfit Maziya.

Both Kelantan and Selangor reached the Round of 16 in this year’s edition but were eliminated by Kitchee and New Radiant respectively.

In Group E, Indonesia Super League champions Persipura Jayapura will meet Singapore Cup winners Home United in a battle between two Southeast Asian giants.

The other teams in the group are Maldives’ New Radiant, who did brilliantly to reach the last eight this year, as well as Churchill Brothers of India.

Finally, S.League champions Tampines Rovers will play in Group H if they fail to qualify for the Champions League, where they will meet Nay Pyi Taw of Myanmar, Hong Kong side Kitchee and India’s Pune, who are also in the running to qualify for the Champions League and will be replaced by East Bengal if they do so.

2014 AFC Cup Group Stage Draw

Group A: Al Suwaiq (OMN), That Ras (JOR), Safa (LBN), Ravshan Kulob (TJK)/Al Yarmuk Al Rawda (YEM)

Group B: Al Kuwait (KWT), Fanja (OMN), Al Jaish (SYR), Nejmeh (LBN)

Group C: Al Hidd (BHR), Al Qadsia (KWT), Al Shorta (IRQ), Al Wahda (SYR)

Group D: Shabab Al Ordon (JOR), Riffa (BHR), Erbil (IRQ), Alay Osh (KGZ)/Shabab Al Dhahiriya (PSE)

Group E: Persipura Jayapura (IDN), Home United (SGP), New Radiant (MDV), Churchill Brothers (IND)

Group F: Hanoi T&T (VNM), Arema Cronous (IDN), Selangor (MYS), Maziya (MDV)

Group G: Yangon United (MMR), Vissai Ninh Binh (VNM), South China (HKG), Kelantan (MYS)

Group H: Tampines Rovers (SGP), Nay Pyi Taw (MMR), Pune (IND), Kitchee (HKG)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s