ASEAN stars set to team up for Haiyan charity match

Some of Southeast Asian football’s biggest names have been included in the ASEAN All-Star team that will take on Indonesia in a charity match on May 11.

The match, which will raise funds for the victims of Typhoon Haiyan, will take place at the 100,000-capacity Gelora Bung Karno, the home of the Merah Putih.

The team, which will be coached by ex-Malaysia boss K. Rajagobal, was announced on Wednesday and the biggest name present is that of Thailand striker Teerasil Dangda, who will leave Muangthong United for La Liga outfit Almeria in June.

The 25-year-old will be joined by fellow countrymen Datsakorn Thonglao and Niweat Siriwong, two of the War Elephants’ most-experienced campaigners who have won over 200 caps between them.

Reigning AFF Suzuki Cup champions will be represented by the trio of Warriors FC goalkeeper Hassan Sunny, Johor Darul Ta’zim midfielder Hariss Harun and Johor Darul Ta’zim II forward Shahril Ishak.

Three of Malaysia’s biggest names – Safiq Rahim, Aidil Zafuan and Mahalli Jasuli – will all be involved as well, which has meant Darul Ta’zim’s Malaysia Super League clash with LIONSXII has been postponed to May 20.

Philippines’ two representatives will be Aly Borromeo and Ian Araneta, who have both been stars for the Azkals long before their recent rise as a force in the region.

Legendary striker Le Cong Vinh leads the way for the Vietnamese contingent and will be joined by Ha Noi T&T starlet Nguyen Van Quyet and experienced defender Truong Dinh Luat, while Myanmar’s contribution will be Thein Than Win and Naing Lin Oo of Kanbawza and Ayeyawady Unite respectively.

Laos and Cambodia both have two representatives each as well; Soukthavy Soundala and Visay Phaphouvanin for the former and Hong Pheng and Chhin Chhoeun for the latter.

Finally, 22-year-old Azri Zahari will fly the flag for Brunei, while Timor Leste’s sole member in the side is defender Adelino Trindade.

Goalkeepers: Hassan Sunny (Warriors FC, Singapore), Soukthavy Soundala (Ezra, Laos)

Defenders: Azri Zahari (Majra United, Brunei), Hong Pheng (Phnom Penh Crown, Cambodia), Aidil Zafuan (Johor Darul Ta’zim, Malaysia), Mahalli Jasuli (Johor Darul Ta’zim, Malaysia), Thein Than Win (Kanbawza, Myanmar), Aly Borromeo (Kaya, Philippines), Niweat Siriwong (Chonburi, Thailand), Adelino Trindade (Dili United, Timor Leste), Truong Dinh Luat (Becamex Binh Duong, Vietnam)

Midfielders: Chhin Chhoeun (National Defense Ministry, Cambodia), Safiq Rahim (Johor Darul Ta’zim, Malaysia), Naing Lin Oo (Ayeyawady United, Myanmar), Hariss Harun (Johor Darul Ta’zim, Singapore), Datsakorn Thonglao (Muangthong United, Thailand), Nguyen Van Quyet (Ha Noi T&T, Vietnam)

Forwards: Visay Phaphouvanin (Lao Police Club, Laos), Ian Araneta (Philippine Air Force, Philippines), Shahril Ishak (Johor Darul Ta’zim II, Singapore), Teerasil Dangda (Muangthong United, Thailand), Le Cong Vinh (Song Lam Nghe An, Vietnam)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s