S.League leaders DPMM march on with Albirex win

DPMM FC stretched their lead at the top of the S.League to ten points on Wednesday after coming from behind to beat Albirex Niigata (S) 2-1.

Following a goalless first half at the Sultan Hassanal Bolkiah National Stadium, it was the White Swans who took the lead in the 52nd minute when Itsuki Yamada capitalised on some slack defending to send a sweet strike into the back of the net.

But just three minutes later, the hosts pulled level when Roy O’Donovan beat Kazuki Kishigami with a long-range effort for his 11th goal of the campaign.

And in the 72nd minute, O’Donovan once again caused all sorts of problems for the opposition defence and won a penalty after being brought down inside the box, allowing Rodrigo Tosi to step up and fire home the winner for DPMM.

The victory – the Bruneian outfit’s tenth in 12 games – allowed them to move ten points clear of nearest rivals Warriors FC and Tampines Rovers, who both now have a game in hand.

Meanwhile, Albirex remain in fifth place on 20 points but could be overtaken by Hougang United by the end of the round.

DPMM FC: Wardun Yussof, Subhi Abdilah, Shahrulrizal Abdul Rahman, Abdul Aziz Tamit, Azwan Saleh, Rosmin Kamis, Joe Gamble, Roberto Alviz, Azwan Ali, Roy O’Donovan, Rodrigo Tosi.

Albirex Niigata (S): Kazuki Kishigami, Kento Fujihara, Taiyo Nishida, Soichiro Tanaka, Itsuki Yamada, Koki Akasaka, Kosuke Matsuda, Keisuke Ota, Kazuya Okazaki, Kento Nagasaki, Kazuki Sakamoto.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s