Myanmar down Philippines to win Peace Cup

Myanmar came from behind to win the 2014 Philippine Peace Cup on Saturday after claiming a 3-2 extra-time win over Philippines at the Rizal Memorial Stadium.

It was Myanmar who edged ahead after eight minutes after Kyaw Ko Ko’s cross-cum-shot was misjudged by Roland Muller, and made its way in off the post.

However, the hosts responded five minutes after halftime when left-back Daisuke Sato opened his international account with an excellent long-range strike.

Phil Younghusband then fired Philippines ahead in the 71st minute when he netted from the spot, after Patrick Reichelt had been fouled inside the area.

But just when it looked as though the Azkals would be celebrating a third consecutive Peace Cup triumph, the visitors equalised in injury-time when Min Min Thu found the back of the net.

With the scores level after 90 minutes, the game then went into extra-time and it was Soe Min Oo who emerged as the hero, finishing at the far post after Muller had made an initial save to win it for Radojko Avramovic’s charges.

In the day’s third-place playoff, AFC Challenge Cup champions Palestine cruised to a 7-3 win over Chinese Taipei.

Philippines: Roland Muller, Kenshiro Daniels, Simone Rota, Rob Gier, Daisuke Sato, Jason De Jong, Patrick Reichelt, Misagh Bahadoran, Chris Greatwich, James Younghusband, Phil Younghusband.

Myanmar: Thiha Sithu, Win Min Htut, Khin Maung Lwin, Zaw Min Tun, Nay Myo Aung, David Htan, Tin Win Aung, Yan Aung Kyaw, Kyaw Zayar Win, Nanda Lin Kyaw Chit, Kyaw Ko Ko.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s