Home through to SG Cup final after stunning comeback

Home United produced a brilliant fightback to beat DPMM FC 3-2 on Friday in the second leg of their Singapore Cup semi-final and claim a 4-3 aggregate win.

With the tie evenly poised after a 1-1 draw in Tuesday’s first leg, it was DPMM who drew first blood after just five minutes when the Protectors’ failure to clear their lines after an Azwan Ali freekick had come back off the post allowed Roy O’Donovan to poke home on the rebound.

In the 35th minute, the Bruneians looked well and truly on their way when they were awarded a penalty after Juma’at Jantan had hacked O’Donovan down inside the box; Rodrigo Tosi stepping up and coolly stroking his shot into the bottom corner.

However, Home managed to pull one back just before the break when Sirina Camara reacted quickest after Lee Kwan-woo’s dangerous freekick had caused all sorts of havoc inside the opposition box, and sent a deft chip over Wardun Yussof.

Still, it looked as though it was not going to be their day as they were continually denied an equaliser – Wardun doing well to push Lee’s 25-yard freekick onto the post in the 73rd minute, before Juma’at Jantan saw his cracking effort smash into the woodwork four minutes later.

But with seven minutes remaining, the Protectors finally pulled level when DPMM’s failure to clear a corner saw Lee lay the ball back to the edge the box for Noh Rahman, who proceeded to send a rocket of a strike past a hapless Wardun.

Just when it looked as though extra-time was beckoning, Home went on to claim the win in the 89th minute when Song In-young nodded home on the rebound after Qiu Li’s initial header had come back off the bar to set up a final showdown with Balestier Khalsa.

DPMM FC: Wardun Yussof, Joe Gamble, Abdul Aziz Tamit (Shahrulrizal Abdul Rahman 80’), Boris Raspudic, Azwan Saleh, Rosmin Kamis,Hendra Azam (Najib Tarif 87’), Roberto Alviz, Rodrigo Tosi, Roy O’Donovan, Azwan Ali.

Home United: Shahril Jantan, Masrezwan Masturi, Song In-young, Sirina Camara, Juma’at Jantan, Noh Rahman, Lee Kwan-woo, Yasir Hanapi (Indra Sahdan Daud 82’), Qiu Li, Bruno Castanheira, Fazrul Nawaz (Kwon Da-kyung 46’).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s