Woodlands consign Harimau Muda to bottom spot

Harimau Muda finished the 2014 S.League season bottom of the table after being beaten 3-2 by Woodlands Wellington in their final game on Thursday evening.

Razip Ismail’s charges initially got off to a bright start at the Woodlands Stadium as they took the lead after just four minutes; Nurshamil Abdul Ghani winning possession off Shahril Alias before finishing past Ahmadulhaq Che Omar.

However, Woodlands hit back four minutes after the half-hour mark through Moon Soon-ho, who raced onto Fadhil Noh’s through pass before slotting into the back of the net.

The visitors were then dealt a huge blow eight minutes into the second half when they were reduced to ten men, after Afiq Fazail was shown a straight red by referee Ahmad A’Qashah.

And it took the Rams just five minutes to make the most of their numerical advantage as Fadhil got a goal of his own; beating Ramdhan Hamid in a one-on-one situation after the Malaysian goalkeeper had failed to clear his lines.

The contest was then effectively ended in the 66th minute as the hosts added a third when Milos Jevtic met Goh Swee Swee’s freekick with a powerful header into the bottom corner.

Nonetheless, Harimau Muda did grab a late consolation in injury-time when Akhir Bahari scored with a diving header, although it was not enough to save his side from finishing bottom of the table.

Woodlands, on the other hand, will have to settle for an 11th-place finish, although they can be satisfied in ending their campaign on a positive note, especially considering Thursday’s result was their first win in ten matches.

Woodlands Wellington: Ahmadulhaq Che Omar, Armanizam Dolah, Shahril Alias, Milos Jevtic, Fadhil Noh (Chang Jo-yoon 60’), Atsushi Shimono, Taufiq Ghani (Oswind Suriya 71’), Farouq Farkhan (Andy Ahmad 38’), Stefan Milojevic, Moon Soon-ho, Goh Swee Swee.

Harimau Muda: Ramdhan Hamid, Ashmawi Yakin, Annas Rahmat, Syawal Nordin, Azrul Nizam Muhammad, Faris Shah Rosli, Irfan Zakaria (Akmal Chin 85’), Afiq Fazail, Shahrul Igwan Samsudin, Syazwan Zaipol Bahari (Asri Mardzuki 73’), Nurshamil Abdul Ghani (Akhir Bahari 69’).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s