Warriors pip DPMM to win ninth S.League title

Warriors FC claimed their ninth S.League title on Friday evening after recording a 1-0 win over Albirex Niigata (S) at the Choa Chu Kang Stadium.

Following a goalless first half, Hafiz Rahim broke the deadlock in the 48th minute when he scored with a close-range header, after Nicolas Velez had nodded Daniel Bennett’s right-wing cross into his path.

However, the Warriors then needed goalkeeper Hassan Sunny to help them claim maximum points, after the Singapore international made two fantastic saves to keep out efforts from Itsuki Yamada and Kazuya Okazaki.

In the end, the victory proved enough to see them finish top of the table by three points after previous leaders DPMM FC fell to a 2-1 defeat to Tampines Rovers at the Jalan Besar Stadium.

After Jozef Kaplan had fired the Stags ahead in the 65th minute, Miljan Mrdakovic netted from close range to double their lead eight minutes later.

Rodrigo Tosi managed to pull one back for DPMM eight minutes from time but it proved to be too little too late, as they were pipped to the title by Warriors in dramatic fashion.

In Friday’s other game, Home United sealed a fourth-place finish after beating Balestier Khalsa 1-0 at the Toa Payoh Stadium; Bruno Castaneira scoring the only goal of the contest in the 87th minute.

Friday’s S.League Results

Balestier Khalsa 0-1 Home United

Tampines Rovers 2-1 DPMM FC

Warriors FC 1-0 Albirex Niigata (S)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s