Singapore see off Myanmar to stay in the hunt

Singapore remain in the running to qualify for the 2014 AFF Suzuki Cup semi-finals after claiming a 4-2 win over Myanmar in Wednesday’s Group B clash at the National Stadium.

The Lions took the lead after 16 minutes when Shaiful Esah whipped in a 25-yard freekick that sailed past a sea of players, before taking a bounce and making its way into the bottom corner.

Five minutes after the half-hour mark, the hosts doubled their tally when Hariss Harun was picked out by Faris Ramli on the edge of the box and brought the ball under control with his chest, before sending a stunning volley past Thiha Sithu.

The contest then looked all but over when Singapore made it 3-0 two minutes before halftime as Hariss lashed another volley – this time on his left foot – into the back of the net, after Myanmar had failed to clear their lines from a corner.

However, the White Angels were handed a lifeline in the 56th minute when Kyaw Zayar Win broke free inside the area following a lovely one-two with Min Min Thu, before slotting his shot past Hassan Sunny.

Six minutes later, the deficit was reduced further as Kyaw Ko Ko stepped up to the penalty spot and fired straight down the middle, after he had been barged over by Safuwan Baharudin inside the area.

Nonetheless, any hopes Myanmar had of pulling off a miraculous comeback were ended 15 minutes from time when Khin Maung Lwin, in an attempt to clear another dangerous freekick by Shaiful, only succeeded in steering the ball past his own goalkeeper to seal the win for the Lions.

The victory means Singapore are now up to second place in Group B and a draw against arch-rivals Malaysia would be enough to see them advance to the last four, provided leaders Thailand beat Myanmar.

Myanmar: Thiha Sithu, David Htan, Aung Zaw, Win Min Htut, Khin Maung Lwin, Tin Win Aung, Yan Aung Kyaw (Kyi Lin 46’), Kyaw Zayar Win, Min Min Thu (Chit Su Moe 84’), Nanda Lin Kyaw Chit (Nyein Chan Aung 63’), Kyaw Ko Ko.

Singapore: Hassan Sunny, Ismadi Mukhtar (Al-Qaasimy Rahman 38’), Baihakki Khaizan, Safuwan Baharudin, Shaiful Esah, Hariss Harun, Shahdan Sulaiman (Zulfahmi Arifin 24’), Sahil Suhaimi (Fazrul Nawaz 77’), Shahril Ishak, Faris Ramli, Khairul Amri.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s