Aide names provisional Singapore squad for SEA Games

Singapore Under-23 coach Aide Iskandar named his 30-man provisional squad for the 2015 Southeast Asian (SEA) Games on Wednesday evening.

As expected, the bulk of the roster comes from Aide’s Courts Young Lions side, with 21 players from the S.League outfit having been called up.

However, four men from Malaysia Super League outfit LIONSXII were also named, including full internationals Faris Ramli and Sahil Suhaimi, who both also featured in last year’s AFF Suzuki Cup.

Furthermore, a total of seven players were part of the side that won the bronze medal in Myanmar back in 2013, including Faris, Sahil, Shahfiq Ghani and Al-Qaasimy Rahman.

There were also places for five not currently plying their trade with either of the Football Association of Singapore (FAS) sides LIONSXII and Young Lions, with the likes of Balestier Khalsa duo Nurullah Hussein and Ho Wai Loon, as well as Home United winger Stanely Ng, all rewarded for their impressive starts to 2015.

The draw for the SEA Games also took place on Wednesday with Singapore being drawn in Group A alongside Indonesia, Myanmar, Cambodia and Philippines.

Although the draw appears to be favourable to the Singaporeans, Aide was keen to stress there would be no room for complacency.

“While Group B appears to be the tougher group, we must remember that there are no minnows in Southeast Asian football these days,” he said.

“Many of our neighbours have made a lot of progress in recent years, and that is why we will not be underestimating any team.”

Goalkeepers: Syazwan Buhari, Rudy Khairullah, Fashah Iskandar (all Courts Young Lions)

Defenders: Shakir Hamzah, Al-Qaasimy Rahman, Sheikh Abdul Hadi, Fadli Kamis, Amirul Adli, Irfan Fandi, Taufiq Muqminin (all Courts Young Lions), Zakir Samsudin (LIONSXII), Nurullah Hussein, Ho Wai Loon (both Balestier Khalsa)

Midfielders: Faris Ramli, Christopher van Huizen (both LIONSXII), Safirul Sulaiman, M. Anumanthan, Shamil Sharif, Adam Swandi, Shameer Aziq, Afiq Noor, Suria Prakash, Pravin Gunasagaran (all Courts Young Lions), Stanely Ng, Muhaimin Suhaimi (both Home United)

Forwards: Shahfiq Ghani, Iqbal Hussain, Amy Recha (all Courts Young Lions), Sahil Suhaimi (LIONSXII), Taufik Suparno (Tampines Rovers)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s