Persib crowned Indonesia Super League champions

Persib Bandung won the Indonesia Super League title on Friday with a 5-3 penalty shootout victory over Persipura Jayapura following a 2-2 extra-time draw in the final.

Persipura broke the deadlock at the Gelora Sriwijaya Jakabaring after six minutes Ian Kabes raced onto a visionary through-ball by Firman Utina, before keeping his cool despite close attentions of Vladimir Vujovic to slot into the bottom corner.

However, they were dealt a real blow just before the break when Bio Paulin was sent off for a second bookable offence, after illegally halting Ferdinand Sinaga’s run on the edge of the box,

Things then went from bad to worse for them as they failed to clear their lines from the resultant freekick; Imanuel Wanggai unfortunately deflecting the ball into his own goal to hand Maung Bandung the equaliser after Dede Sulaiman had parried a shot straight at him.

Eight minutes into the second half, Persib made the most of their numerical advantage as they edged ahead after Utina played another lovely pass to release Muhammad Ridwan, who clinically fired past the onrushing Dede.

But with ten minutes remaining, the Black Pearls pulled level when Boaz Solossa was left unmarked inside the six-yard box and finished from close range.

With neither side able to find a winner in the remainder of the 90 minutes, as well as extra-time, the game then proceeded to the dreaded shootout.

The first seven efforts were taken with no real drama as Makan Konate, Sinaga, Tony Sucipto and Supardi Nasir all scored for Maung Bandung, while Boaz, Yohanes Pahabol and Robertino Pugliara converted for Persipura.

Nonetheless, the Black Pearls’ fourth spot-kick by Nelson Alom was smartly saved by I Made Wirawan, paving the way for Achmad Jufriyanto to fire home the winner and hand Persib the title.

Persipura Jayapura: Dede Sulaiman, Yustinus Pae, Bio Paulin, Dominggus Fakdawer, Ruben Sanadi, Imanuel Wanggai (Nelson Alom 95’), Gerald Pangkali (Jaelani Arey 62’), Lim Joon-sik, Boaz Solossa, Ian Kabes (Yohanes Pahabol 69’), Robertino Pugliara.

Persib Bandung: I Made Wirawan, Supardi Nasir, Achmad Jufriyanto, Vladimir Vujovic, Tony Sucipto, Firman Utina, Hariono, Muhammad Ridwan, Makan Konate, Tantan (Atep Rizal 66’), Ferdinand Sinaga.

One thought on “Persib crowned Indonesia Super League champions

  1. WOW, Just when I left Bandung and go back to Manila 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s