Nay Pyi Taw set Ooredoo Cup final date with Ayeyawady

Nay Pyi Taw are through to the final of the MFF Ooredoo Cup after beating Myanmar National League rivals Chin United on penalties following a 1-1 draw on Wednesday.

The White Elephants had initially taken the lead in the semi-final clash after ten minutes when Argentine playmaker Carlos Delgado found the back of the net, only for their opponents to equalise in the second half and force extra-time.

But with neither side able to find the winner, the game then went to penalties where it was Nay Pyi Taw who emerged victorious with a 6-5 triumph.

As the champions of the tournament will be guaranteed a spot in the 2015 AFC Cup, Nay Pyi Taw are now just one match away from securing continental football for the second season running.

They also have a chance of doing the double although they are currently seven points off the pace in the National League, with six games remaining in the campaign.

Standing in their way are Ayeyawady United, who defeated league leaders Yadanarbon 1-0 at the Thuwunna Stadium.

Lassina Kone was the hero for Ayeyawady as he popped up with the winner three minutes before the break, although they did well to keep their opponents at bay for much of the second half.

As last year’s edition was cancelled, Marjan Sekulovski’s charges are the current defending champions following their triumph back in 2012 and will be looking to become the first team to claim a second crown.

Wednesday’s MFF Ooredoo Cup Semi-final Results

Ayeyawady United 1-0 Yadanarbon

Nay Pyi Taw 1-0 Chin United


Nay Pyi Taw through to semis on penalties, Yangon booted out

Nay Pyi Taw needed penalties to advance into the last four of the MFF Ooredoo Cup on Monday after playing out a 0-0 draw with Magway in their quarter-final clash.

Although Nay Pyi Taw entered the clash as favourites to come away with the win, they were just unable to find their way past their opponents for the 90 minutes, as well as the subsequent half-hour of extra-time.

However, there was to be no denying them as they ultimately prevailed 7-6 in the penalty shootout to book their spot in the semis.

In Monday’s other last-eight tie, Ayeyawady United needed extra-time before claiming a 2-1 win over Zwekapin United.

Following a goalless first half, Nanda Lin Kyaw Chit fired Ayeyawady ahead in the 48th minute, only for Takamatsu Kentaro to equalise for Zwekapin three minutes after the hour mark and force extra-time.

But in the 112th minute, Lassina Kone popped up with the winner to send Ayeyawady one step closer to the final.

In Sunday’s action, Yangon United were eliminated from the competition following a 2-1 defeat to Yadanarbon at the Yangon United Sports Complex.

After Dyaw Ko Ko Chit had opened the scoring for the visitors in the 20th minute, Yangon pulled level through a Kyaw Ko Ko strike two minutes before halftime.

Nonetheless, it was Yadanarbon who went on to claim the win when Kaung Sithu found the breakthrough ten minutes from the end.

Finally, Chin United complete the line-up for the semi-finals following a 1-0 win over Hanthawardy United, which came courtesy of Keith Murtu Nah’s 67th-minute penalty.

Sunday’s MFF Ooredoo Cup Quarter-final Results

Yangon United 1-2 Yadanarbon

Chin United 1-0 Hanthawardy United

Monday’s MFF Ooredoo Cup Quarter-final Results

Nay Pyi Taw 0-0 Magway (after extra-time, 7-6 on penalties)

Zwekapin United 1-2 Ayeyawady United (after extra-time)